Best Rate
Guarantee

Remind me
to book
We will send you an email
reminder on this date.

Midtown Hotel Reviews

The Talk of the Town

Browse Midtown hotel reviews for the Washington Jefferson Hotel to learn more about what others have said about their experience here. We look forward to serving you during your business or leisure trip to the city.

Our Manhattan Hotel Reviews

January 2015 Gracious Service at WJH

I have stayed here before, both by myself and with family, and will stay again. The staff are always friendly and professional, the rooms clean & comfortable, and the location convenient. Recommended.

January 2015 Excellent Service

The staff was extremely helpful. They bumped up our room to a bigger bed after we had to wait a minute for cleaning service, they were very knowledgeable, and very friendly. We especially enjoyed the bell service. Great stay. 

January 2015 Wonderful Stay!

My husband and I stayed 6 nights in this hotel and we had a wonderful time!
The WJ Hotel is very good located, near Times Square and a very large choice of good restaurants!
The bed was very comfortable!
I strongly recommend it!!! 

January 2015 Had A Great Time Staying At Washington Jefferson Hotel

A very good location - near Times Square and Hells Kitchen and also near the shopping areas. All the staffs were friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean as well. I would definitely stay on this hotel again. 

January 2015 Great, Clean and Friendly We stayed at Washington Jefferson for 6 nights in December 2014.
The staff were friendly and accommodating, they happily and generously gave advice and booked restaurants for us when queried, they also booked a taxi for our return to Newark airport.
The hotel is in a good location, on the border of Hell's Kitchen and The Theatre District. There are plenty amenities nearby and a wide plethora of restaurants.
Before arriving I was concerned we would have a tiny room due to some TA reviews. I can say quite honestly, our room was a fair and ample size, while not massive, it was not too small and for a holiday where we spent minimal time in our room it was absolutely perfect. A comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space, a clean modern toilet with a large double shower. We stayed in room 406. Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard.
Would stay at Washington jefferson again. 
January 2015 2 queen beds and good sized rooms

We were looking for 2 queen beds in a reasonably priced hotel in uptown or midtown. My sister-in-law found this hotel on TripAdvisor and after reading the reviews we decided to book. A few days later, I got a notice from TripAdvisor that the pricing was reduced for the WJ so I called and got the lower price. We just got back from the hotel and I was very pleased. The hotel is at 51st and 8th Ave...close to Central Park West / Columbus Circle. We walked most places or easily caught the subway to get downtown. Safe streets and fairly quiet. The building was old but room was newly updated. The biggest plus to this hotel was the 2 queen beds and ample space to move around. The bathroom was rather large for a NYC hotel. Staff was great. We valeted the car and stored our luggage on the front end and tail end of our trip. Everything was safe and well taken care of. I'd go back again! Only con was the room was a bit noisy...more from the hallway vs outdoors. 

January 2015 Will Stay Again!

Really loved this hotel, the location is literally a 5 minute walk to Time Square and very close to everything you could want or need. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, it's a smaller hotel so staff knew us by name as well as we got to know other guests. The hotel is very quiet and rooms are a very decent size for New York. Only down side was there are no bar fridges in the room, only an ice bucket. I would stay here again in a heart beat, really loved this place. 

January 2015 Lovely Boutique Hotel

For those for whom such issues matter, you don't support some indifferent corporation staying at WJ. This hotel is privately owned, and while not quite mom and pop--too elegant for that--one receives a warm greeting.

I've read others describe the rooms as tiny, but while small, I found my double a good size for two. Ours had a wall-mounted TV with cable including HBO and free wifi. It featured elegant decor and a lovely bathroom with large shower and enormous mirror. The front desk provided maps at check-in, inquired about our day when we returned to the room at night, helped us print boarding passes for our flight home, and arranged our car service to the airport. Maids smiled and greeted us as we passed them in the halls. The lobby honored both Christmas and Hanukkah with a gorgeous Christmas tree in the corner and a lighted menorah in front of a mirror. The room sparkled with good feeling.

As to location, we walked everywhere we needed to reach on our weekend in mid-town, never once needing the subway or a taxi. We attended three Broadway plays, shopped 5th Avenue, visited the tree at Rockefeller Center, wandered around the Christmas market at Central Park, enjoyed the frenzy at Times Square, and ate at several great New York restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The Maria Pia across the street from WJ offers outstanding Italian, and Restaurant Row on 46th between 8th and 9th Avenues featured great French at Le Rivage and delightful Spanish at Sangria 46. Like the hotel, the restaurants named provide a non-corporate, mom and pop feel.

The WJ never disappointed. We thank the staff and management for a perfect long weekend. 

December 2014 Business on 23rd

Initially chose the hotel for one night, but after walking into the room booked for the duration of my stay in NYC. The room was remodeled tastefully, very clean, small but the large bathroom made up for it. The bed comfy and the bathroom sparkley! The front desk folks were very friendly both during the checkin and checkout, well trained and courteous. The location is half a block from Wicked and really easy access to subway, I had to work on 23rd and got there in 20 minutes everyday. Highly recommend for a convenient clean stay in an accessible location. 

December 2014 New Yorks Hidden Gem

Once you stay at the WJH you will never have the need to stay anywhere else. They are located in a perfect spot. The cleanliness of the WJH is superior to others. It is a landmark hotel that is VERY well maintained. Everyone at the WJH makes you feel important & welcomed. We love the WJH. 

October 2014 Excellent Service

The door man not only opened the door for us every night that week, but took our bags after we checked out so we can go out to eat brunch. He was always nice and always asked us how our day was going. The front desk team was super friendly and helped us print out our boarding passes. They called a taxi service to bring us to the airport, and we literally felt like we were the only guests there. Excellent service.

October 2014 Wonderful!

Reviewed yesterday NEW Excellent location!! Will come again for sure. Highly recommend this hotel. Walking distance to everything cool. Worth every penny. Stay here next visit. Theatres right around the corner. Stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


 
August 2014 Business Travel
  • Great location with easy walking access to shopping on 5th and 6th and shows.
  • The Concierge and Front Desk are most helpful.
  • Several great restaurants across the street make it easy to have a quiet dinner after a day of work.
August 2014 Excellent Little Hotel with Fantastic Location
  • There's a lot to like about this little hotel. Perhaps the biggest highlight is its location. The WJ is half a block from the 50th st. C/E subway station and about a block and a half from a station with service from the 1 train. This gives you access to the majority of the city without even making a transfer. Within walking distance, you'll find Times Square, Broadway, the Theater District, and so much more. And even all of this nearby, the hotel is situated on a fairly quiet street (in Manhattan terms) meaning that it's fairly easy to sleep without all of the city noise.
  • The staff in the hotel is very accommodating. During my 5-night stay, I got to know a housekeeper and one of the doormen quite well. Everyone I encountered was friendly and helpful.
  • Perhaps the best thing about the WJ is the fact that it has character. If you look around, you'll probably notice old architectural details that have survived for many years (I loved the staircase). I'm not sure why, but I grew more fond of this property every day that I stayed there.
  • The staff and the charming building really won me over.
February 2014

Perfect Guest Experience


 

“Just wanted you to know this was a perfect guest experience. As a solo traveler needing to stay somewhere central, I loved your hotel. Staff was super friendly and happy and funny……. Can't think of anything bad to say whatsoever. And I'm a picky customer most of the time. Well done!!!!...........The bellman came literally RUNNING out to greet me when my cab pulled up. Couldn't do better than that!”

-Robin O.

January 2014 The Most Accommodating Staff

“WJ has the utmost respectful, helpful, and accommodating staff.”

"Thank you so much for your hospitality." 

-John L.

November 2013 Thanks for Your Hospitality

Thank you so much for your hospitality.

“I just returned from New York and wanted to thank you so much for your hospitality at The Washington Jefferson last Friday and Saturday nights.  Your hotel is fantastic and the staff couldn’t have been more friendly.  My friend and I had a wonderful time and really appreciated the bottle of wine you left for us.  It was delicious.

I will definitely recommend the Washington Jefferson to clients and colleagues.  Thank you again.”

Best regards,

Sara H.